Friday, 28 September 2018

INEC Declares APC’s Gboyega Oyetola Winner Of Osun Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Gboyega Oyetola, the winner of the Osun governorship election.

INEC declared Oyetola the winner of the poll after the supplementary election held in seven polling units in the state on Thursday.
Oyetola had trailed the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ademola Adeleke, by 353 votes going into the supplementary election.
His votes from Thursday were however enough to help him overturn the deficit and be returned as winner of the keenly contested governorship election.
The final votes announced by the electoral body shows that Oyetola got 255,505 votes, while Adeleke secured 255,023 votes.
Consequently, the Returning Officer, Professor Joseph Fuwape, declared Oyetola the winner of the election.
It was not all smooth sailing at the INEC collation centre in Osogbo either.
At the start of the collation for the supplementary election, the Returning Officer had read out the votes each candidates got from the collation of results done on Sunday.
He informed party agents, observers and journalists present that the results announced on Sunday will be recorded into a new form after which the supplementary election results will be collated, added and a winner announced.
The PDP agent, Deji Adeleke, however, raised an objection, asking INEC officials to double-check the initial figures in order to avoid recording errors, especially in Osogbo.
He said the expectation was that the results from Saturday would have been double-checked with regard to some of the issues his party pointed out on Sunday.
He added that “it would be unfair” if contested figures (from Aiyedaade and other places) were recorded as the foundation for the exercise. The PDP believes 1,000 votes were deducted from its actual votes from Aiyedaade.
His position was countered by some other party agents.
The returning officer, however, told the PDP agent that his observations on Sunday had been noted that that day.
The supplementary election results were then collated as follows:
Unit 17 Ataoja ward 5
Units 1&4 ward A
APC: 280
PDP: 122
Unit 12 ward 7
APC: 455
PDP: 36
Unit 02 ward 10
APC: 126
PDP: 02

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lets know your view on this, Kindly drop a comment

FOR Ads Placement:-Contact us :08132592237, EMAIL: Thank you for being with Us
Google Analytics Alternative